This Weekend

This was Labor Day Weekend, and Greg and I had a great time!  When I woke up on Friday there were spots of rain drops on the drive way, and it rained for most of the weekend, thank you Hurricane Issac!  This really cooled things down, and made both our allergies subside! 

 

That’s REAL rain on our driveway! It seemed like years since the last good rain!

The little rain that started right before I took off for work on Friday morning!

What our lawn looked like once I got home from work on Friday!

The backyard on Saturday afternoon. My allergies were just about gone and my eyes weren’t nearly as red by this point! 🙂 It was great!

On Saturday evening we headed to Springfield, IL to visit some of my really good friends.  We saw some interesting clouds in the sky, light gray clouds, dark gray clouds, and in between blue sky!  We also saw where all the clouds MUST be coming from!

With Friends

Sorry for the bad lightening and pictures…it was late and there wasn’t much light to work with.

Dark clouds, light gray clouds, and blue skies right behind them peeking through (I found this image of the sky very poetic when Greg pointed it out on our drive to Springfield.)

Do you see the smoke stacks in the picture in the background? It looks like all the rain clouds came out of there!

Sunday I cleaned up the house a little, and bought new shoes after church.  When we went out to eat at a little deli they had Sugar in the Raw and I was overjoyed!  My ice tea was great! 

See the brown packages of sugar? That’s Sugar in the Raw! 🙂

I’m starting to decorate for fall already! 🙂

My new running shoes! My last pair were the same brand, and they held up for over a year!

On Monday we went zip lining with a couple friends.  We had never gone and it was super excited zipping through the forest area and seeing some of the tops of trees already changing colors.  I was super chicken, like I usually am when it’s something thrilling like that, but I am proud to say I didn’t scream once!  By the third one I was excited to keep zipping!  I was told by one of the guides that I had the best game face ever, I’m a pretty serious person and when I’m in charge of something I take charge.  So for breaking I was all serious about it.  It was a lot of fun, and I suspect that if Greg and I ever head to a rainforest we will try it again there!

Flying through the air and having fun, though this is a serious faced picture…

 

Hubs and me right before zipping down their longest and highest line! This was my favorite one, yeah, this coming from a girl scared of heights!

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

About athousandwordsjourney

Look us up on Facebook by searching for "A Thousand Words Journey and Happy Dance Blogs" and "Like" us! :)

2 responses to “This Weekend”

  1. nicmcken says :

    That zip lining looks amazing! I don’t know if I’d ever have the courage to do it though with my fear of heights haha

Leave a Reply

