Warrior Dash 2012

 

Before the race!

Saturday was my second Warrior Dash.  I woke up extremely glad to see the sun and the warm weather.  The night before a race I don’t sleep very well, the night before the Warrior Dash I didn’t sleep but an hour.  Last year, Warrior Dash, was my very first 5K (either that’s really brave or really stupid, depending on how you look at it).  It was a lot of fun and I ran with four girls that I met off of myfitnesspal.com.  This year two of the other girls couldn’t participate but I ran with one of them and one of her friends. 

The beginning of the race!

Last year I was scared to death, that I was going to die doing Warrior Dash.  I had nightmares about it up until the day.  This year I spent most of my time, the night before, praying.  I spend most nights in prayer before falling asleep, and the nights before a race I pray for strength and for whatever organization the race is for to do well with the money and to gain a lot of supporters.  The night before the Warrior Dash 2012, I spend praying for strength and to help me not kill myself on the obstacles.  My prayers were answered and I didn’t die!  I did see quite a few people that fell during the race, and I ran back, or up to, to help pick them up (the race is on very odd terrain, not flat land, with rocks, roots, holes, and logs on the trail).  I also saw one girl who was falling over and passing out from dehydration and I ran up to the next water station (not that far away) to get her some help.  I was told as I ran by her friends that she had drunk too much before she started running.  Note to everyone out there: DON’T drink before a race!  You will get dehydrated and you will pass out or get close to it!

Hubby and me! 🙂 Before the dash.(I just really like the light in the picture!)

 Last year, the cargo net wall gave me a lot of issues.  I had a full on paralyzed panic attack at the bottom of it.  This year I saw it, I contemplated just doing it, I did it, and when I got to the top, I didn’t know if I could actually move my leg over the top and go down the other side without falling off.  A lady I was next to during the entire race helped me over the top and I did it without falling and went down the other side!  It was a great feeling.  Only a little bit of help for balance, but I did it other than that! 

Getting up to the cargo net wall, and wondering…can I do it?

At the very top (on the left) with the lady helping me balance.

I didn’t run as much as I would have liked too, but I did the best I could with a jacked up knee.  I’m glad I did it and I can’t wait for next year’s Warrior Dash!

Jumping over the fire (second to last obstacle)

 The mud was weird, this year.  Very deep and very goopy!  It was harder to walk after getting out of the mud pit and keep your balance.  BUT overall my biggest fear this year was that the mud would contain a brain eating ameba and I would die from it…but so far so good! (Last year my fear was that the barbed wire would somehow get stuck in my neck and I would bleed to death in the mud…vivid, but that’s how my nightmares are). 

In the mud! This was a thicker mud to make your way through, much more difficult then last time.

Sliding down the other side of the hill past the mud pit.

 This weekend I also ate sugar for the first time in a few weeks, again.  It was awful! I drank 1/3 of a root beer float (if that), a corner piece of a laffy taffy that I was super excited for (NASTY!), and some syrup on my waffles…also really gross!  I’m back to no sugar (artificial or processed) again! I’m ready to do this until Nov. 3rd! I’m excited to see what this challenge will do, plus doing 30 day shred (starting tonight –second time doing it in two years), and doing weights on my own and what all of that will do to my body. 

After the dash…strong mud covered girl! (I added mud to my face…I just wasn’t covered enough ha!)

The annual kissing photo after the race 🙂 This year I added more mud to my face…I got some on his chin ha!

Me and the girls with the Warrior Dash sign!

 

It’s a new month, set some goals for you!  I did, and I can’t wait to see what I can achieve!

About athousandwordsjourney

Look us up on Facebook by searching for "A Thousand Words Journey and Happy Dance Blogs" and "Like" us! :)

Leave a Reply

