It’s a Job

 

So I’ve been told multiple times that I “work out too much,” or “I focus on what I eat too much, just have fun.”  Usually these phrases are said pretty discouragingly and in a way that the speaker would like me to stop.  Well recently, I have been told by quite a few people, that I workout like it’s my job!  This has never been said as a put down or something to try to get me to not focus on it.  It was said as a “good job,” and a “fantastic, way to go!”  I love that quote!  I workout like it’s my job!

Do you know what that phrase means to me?  It means that I get up and I do what I’ve got to do to make a payout.  Not only that, I told myself a long time ago that I would never partake in a job which I felt did nothing to help humanity in some way.  I also made a pact with myself, that I would never take a job where I wasn’t happy with what I was doing.

 

Let’s break down those three things: payment, humanity, happiness.

 

Payment

My payment when I workout is a healthy body.  My body is a temple to God, but it is also a carrier of me.  It takes me places, it helps me do things, and it provides the only container I will ever have on this earth so I had better take care of it.  So my payment is a longer lasting body, healthy looking body, and one that will hopefully let me do the things I want to do until I am not longer here on earth.  I think the payment is pretty phenomenal, and this isn’t something you can get from any regular ordinary job, it takes hard work, patience, and the ability to keep it up day to day.  My  goal for my body is to stay in top shape and see many years of good use from it.

 

Humanity

I love to volunteer time and energy towards things that make a difference.  I believe that taking care of myself through working out and eating healthy helps others see that it is possible.  Showing everyone that they don’t need desert every night and that they don’t need to drink soda or sweet tea will help them in the long run.  Little steps can bring around a big change.  I also feel better when I workout, so I know I am in a better mood to help others in my career and in my family and friends.

 

Happiness

Yes, working out almost everyday and focusing on eating good for me foods, can be hard.  Sometimes I fall, and I fall bad.  I had vacation a few days ago, and ate a cupcake and drank when we went out with friends.  These are things I don’t normally do.  These are things that aren’t the best for my body. These are things that I splurge on once in awhile.  But once I realize that I need to get back on my healthy lifestyle, that reality is hard.  It takes a lot of willpower to get off the couch to put my workout DVD in, when I’ve been sitting there for a week.  It takes a lot of stamina to walk away from the chocolate bar that is in front of me at the grocery store.  It just take a lot out of you.  Happiness doesn’t always come easy.  I think, when I am doing those “not so good for me things” and sitting on the couch, that I am happy. I mean come on, what a life, sitting on the couch, feeling lazy, not having to do anything, and oh by the way pass me those potato chips.

But really, that’s not what true happiness is for me.  I am truly happy when I have the energy to go out and explore the world, when I have the ability to run around with the little kids we babysit, and when I eat a strawberry and think it is the best thing in the world.  Happiness is knowing I will live longer with a healthy body and have many great things to see and do in my life, and knowing if I hadn’t started my fitness journey three years ago I may not have had these chances.  Happiness comes from all those endorphins coming from a good workout and the adrenaline one gets in a race.  Happiness is knowing I will spend my lifetime with my husband and we will be healthy in old age together so we can enjoy it.

 

So yeah, my job is working out.  And I love going to work everyday!

 

At “work” I’ve been working on strength training: here are some pics of progress through the first month of Chalean Extreme. I’ve lost a total of 5inches off my body since starting the program.

 

 

IMG_0170

Week One front

Week One arms

Week One arm

Week Two front (sorry no pic of arm)

Week Two front

Week Two Arm

Week Two Arm

Week Three Front

Week Three Front

Week Three Side

Week Three Side

Week Three Arm

Week Three Arm

Beginning of Week Four

Beginning of Week Four

Week Four end

Week Four end

Week Four Side

Week Four Side

 

Week Four Arm

Week Four Arm

Week Four Back!

Week Four Back!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

About athousandwordsjourney

Look us up on Facebook by searching for "A Thousand Words Journey and Happy Dance Blogs" and "Like" us! :)

Leave a Reply

